This idyllic Gloucestershire village takes its name from the fast flowing River Coln, which flows from the Cotswolds and eventually feeds into the mighty Thames. The Affix comes from the Knight Roger de Gloster who gave the village to the Monks of Gloucester before dying in 1106. It remained in the hands of the Abbey until the Dissolution in 1541 when it passed into the possession of the Dean and Chapter of the Cathedral.
The Parish Church of St Andrew is a Saxon gem that seems to have been missed from the guide books and fully justifies a visit for those who love to see the work of our forefathers, unadulterated and still lovingly cared for.
Inside the porch of the beautiful old church is a plaque that informs all visitors of Coln Rogers status as a Thankful Village.
Text and photos - Rod Morris
Return to the "Thankful Villages" article